Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join

2013 AOTA/AOTF Annual Awards

Published May 6, 2013 2:14 PM by Jill Glomstad

On the evening of April 27, the American Occupational Therapy Association and the American Occupational Therapy Foundation presented their annual awards to occupational therapy practitioners who have made outstanding contributions to the profession in leadership, advocacy, education, practice and research.

Former AOTA President Penny Moyers Cleveland, EdD, OT, BCMH, FAOTA, received the AOTA Award of Merit for her career-long work as an influential scholar, educator and leader in the profession. Moyers is only the 8th recipient of the award, the highest honor the association bestows, in AOTA's history.

Glen Gillen, EdD, OTR, FAOTA, who presented the Eleanor Clarke Slagle lecture the previous night, introduced the recipient of this year's lectureship award, Maralynne Mitcham, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA. Mitcham is a recognized leader in OT education, especially in the areas of interprofessional collaboration, faculty development and community-campus partnerships. She will present the Slagle Lecture at the AOTA Conference in Baltimore next April.

Barbara Prudhomme White, PhD, OTR/L, received AOTA's first-ever Outstanding Mentor Award. The newly created award recognizes practitioners who have demonstrated outstanding mentorship, whether to a student, colleague or employee, in a sustained partnership. Prudhomme White received the award for mentorship of her students as associate professor at the University of New Hampshire.

Ken Ottenbacher, PhD, OTR, FAOTA, received the AOTA-AOTF Presidents' Commendation for the volume and quality of his research work. Ottenbacher, a chair, professor, director and dean at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, currently serves as principal investigator or co-PI for projects receiving over $20 million in federal grants.

Additionally, the following awards were presented:

AOTA Awards
Lindy Boggs Award
Paul Fontana, OTR/L, FAOTA

Recognition of Achievement Award
Carol Blackburn, OTR/L, CDRS
Denise Donica, DHS, OTR/L, BCP
Mary Hager, MA, OTR/L, FAOTA
Beth Rollinger, MHA, MS, OTR/L
Linda Schuberth, MA, OTR/L, SCFES (awarded posthumously)

Cordelia Myers Writer's Award
Carolyn Stoller, MS, OTR/L, RYT

Jeannette Bair Writer's Award
Catherine Verrier Piersol, MS, OTR/L
Tracy Vause Earland, MS, OTR/L
E. Adel Herge, OTD, OTR/L

Special Interest Section Quarterly Writer's Award
Marnie Renda, MEd, OTR/L, CAPS, ECHM

AOTF Awards

Academy of Research
Christine Helfrich, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
Stephen Page, PhD, MS, MOT, OTR/L, FAHA
Sylvia Rodger, BOcc, Thy, MEd St, PhD

AOTF Award for Community Volunteerism
Fengyi Kuo, DHS, OTR, CPRP

A. Jean Ayres Award
Patricia Davies, PhD, OTR, FAOTA

Virginia Scardina Award of Excellence
Mary Schneider, PhD, OTR/L

AOTF Meritorious Service Award
Sharon Ryan, OTR

AOTF Leadership Service Commendation
Mark Sullivan

Additionally, 26 occupation therapists were added to the AOTA Roster of Fellows and one occupational therapy assistant was added to the Roster of Honor. Sixteen practitioners received 2013 Retired Educator Awards, and four were recognized for their work in reviewing applications to the Dissertation Grant Research Program of the AOTF Institute for the Study of Occupation and Health. Over 280 practitioners received AOTA Service Commendations for their work on various committees and projects of the association and/or in service to the profession.

posted by Jill Glomstad
tags: ,


I purchased this GE part for my over the range mivworace.  I find that it is poorly made and overpriced.  I choose the GE part versus the after market no name brand because I thought that I would get a better product and end result.  I think the next one will be the cheaper part even if I have to replace it more often.

Hayat Hayat, ULWxTufu - mcOzNcWVjAMPQEsdb, MDXAkETRxmXxhuwcT May 30, 2013 3:42 PM

leave a comment

To prevent comment spam, please type the code you see below into the code field before submitting your comment. If you cannot read the numbers in the image, reload the page to generate a new one.

Enter the security code below:


About this Blog

Keep Me Updated