Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Tips

Last post 10-17-2008, 9:16 AM by Lisa Vaccarielli. 5 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  06-03-2008, 10:42 AM

• Ro is not online. Last active: 06-27-2019, 5:44 AM Ro
    • Joined on 01-03-2008
    • Bloomingdale, NJ
    • 2 Posts

Tips

I am a newly licensed LPN - first job ever began 2/5/08 - every other weekend.  (I currently hold another position 40 hours a week outside of healthcare which frankly pays the mortgage.)  I love nursing and wish that my circumstance be different that I would be able to devote 40 hours a week to it...but it is what it is...and that is not sarcasm, just fact.

Anyway -  I recently received my 45 day evaluation.  Out of a possible 6 points, I got a 2.  The more experienced RNs (they did not perform the orientation with me) told me not to worry about it because I am a brand new nurse in a skilled nursing facility with 20:1 ratio (3 aides usually).  The evaluator has passed meds with me approximately 3-4 times.  Her criticism - which I take as constructive - was that my med pass is too slow with no technique, no confidence because I check & recheck the MAR (and I do that).  No mention to my charting abilities, patient interactions, GT care, colo/ileo care...which I am competent at and complete every shift I work.  I complete most of my treatments as well.  Literally, the evaluation consisted of the slowness in my med pass only.

Needless to say, I am very upset and am looking for ANY tips.  The RNs which I work with all told me to keep going with what I am doing, the evaluate was harsh because it did not consider ANY other aspect of the duties I perform.  However, I still would like helpful hints, tips, anything, that would help me improve.  I greatly appreciate all....thank you!

•  06-19-2008, 10:42 PM

Re: Tips