Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Has everyone heard of Medication Aides?

Last post 04-09-2009, 11:18 PM by Maura Flynn. 61 replies.
Page 1 of 5 (62 items)   1 2 3 4 5 Next >
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  06-21-2004, 11:57 PM

Has everyone heard of Medication Aides?

Hello everyone! I am new to the profession. But I love it. Has everyone heard of the new medication aides? If you have, I want to know how you feel about there job description. If you have not heard about them, you had better do some research. It seem that in order to help with the nursing shortages especially in nursing home settings, unlicensed persons are being hired and minimumly trained to give medications to our patients. Some of these training sessions for medication aides consists of only 20-40 hours to become certified. If you ask me this is very scary. Even with the intense LPN education that I have, I still sometimes check and double-check before I give a medication to a patient. Can you imagine only having 20-40 hours worth of training and still giving medications. The real catch is that the licensed nurse over that unlicensed person is still responsible for that persons actions. If you ask me, this is why we spent so many hours studying ourselves to death to get our license. I don't want some unlicensed person coming to give my medications to my patients. How do you feel?

•  06-25-2004, 5:51 PM

medicine aids