Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Breaking in to hand therapy

Last post 02-25-2011, 9:22 PM by Amy Deluise. 2 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  02-18-2011, 1:50 PM

Breaking in to hand therapy

Hi all - I am a new grad and looking for a job whilst studying for the boards. So far I've applied for an acute peds position entry-level and a hand therapy position and was passed over on both counts for someone with more experience. This makes sense to me but if I how then do I make myself more competitive in the specialized areas that I'm interested in such as hand therapy?

I'd love to be able to find a mentor in VA or NC but know that I may have to look outside of that area to begin. Does anyone have suggestions about where to look to break in to the hand therapy area of practice? I have had some exposure in both of my level II FW's working within the biomechanical framework and working with hands - it's been great and I find myself very compelled to learn more in this area to see if pursuing licensure as a CHT is in my future. Thanks much.

•  02-25-2011, 9:20 PM

Re: Breaking in to hand therapy

I am also a fairly new graduate (2009).  I worked for 5 months in a skilled nursing facility but really wanted the hand therapy position.  I moved to TX and decided to start looking.  I researched all the available positions and found a few to apply for and was offered a couple.  I have been working for a large national OP rehabilitation clinic now for almost 6 months.  I love it.