Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Did you find it diffuclt to make the move to an NP position from a staff nurse role?

Last post 02-27-2013, 4:21 PM by Kristine Bamford. 3 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  07-12-2012, 10:08 PM

Did you find it diffuclt to make the move to an NP position from a staff nurse role?

While i'm looking forward to the challange and patient interaction that becoming an NP will provide and that I am now lacking as a staff nurse, I have fears of transitioning to a NP role where (1) I have A LOT more professional responsibiltiy and (2) My salary will remain the same or less.

Have any of you wrestled with the same emotions? I start my clinicals soon and am hoping I fall in LOVE with it. This will be motivation alone and will outweigh the reservations I have.

Hmphh..

•  12-28-2012, 10:30 AM

Re: Did you find it diffuclt to make the move to an NP position from a staff nurse role?

Lauren, I am having similar feelings as I too begin my first round of clinical experience. I am a FNP student at Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. I should mention that I had similar feelings of role confusion when I was transitioning from a CNA to RN. At this point I am hoping, as before, I will have a smooth transition into my new more-responsibility-filled role. I do have a question for you, what do you mean you will have the same salary? I am looking forward to an increase in my salary once I finish my FNP program.
    Joel Ruiz
  •  02-25-2013, 4:52 PM

Re: Did you find it diffuclt to make the move to an NP position from a staff nurse role?