Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

New grad board certified FNP can't get a job

Last post 04-28-2016, 1:08 PM by kamal sakato. 11 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  08-24-2011, 1:02 AM

New grad board certified FNP can't get a job

I graduated at the end of May with an emphasis on family practice. I am also board certified by the AANP. And yet I can't get a job in the Los Angeles/Orange County/San Diego/Inland Empire, CA. The whole not having a furnishing license has really stopped anyone from hiring me. I've been on over 50 interviews with no offers. I've even had some doctors tell me I should have been a PA because then I could get a job right after certification. I also can't get a RN job because nurse educators/recruiters say I'm overqualified and therefore undesirable. What is going on??
  •  08-24-2011, 11:29 AM

Re: New grad board certified FNP can't get a job

Gail

First off, CONGRATULATIONS on graduating and passing your NP boards!!  After 15 years of practicing as an RN, I will be graduating with my FNP in December and am so excited!!

Secondly, hogwash on those who told you that you should have become a PA.  We are NP's for a reason and should be proud of our independant primary care provider status not to mention the many other reasons for becoming NP's! 

What is a furnishing license?  I am unfamiliar with the term "furnishing."