Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Are you a second career nurse?

Last post 06-07-2009, 11:07 AM by Deborah. 2 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  02-18-2009, 1:12 PM

Are you a second career nurse?

Let's hear from second career nurses? How did you get involved in nursing? Are you satisfied with your new career?
  •  06-04-2009, 6:10 PM

Re: Are you a second career nurse?

Yes, I attended nursing school when I was 35 yo having being laid off with 10 years service from a major Chemical Company.   I have a BS degree in Business Admin/Secretarial Science.  I've been an LPN for 12 years now and I am feeling the physical demands.  In hindsight,  I should have capitalized on my  BS and studied Medical Records, etc. rather than try and reinvent the wheel.  I  just completed a course in Medical Billing and Coding and feel that I am reinventing the wheel again since all the jobs seem to require starting at the very bottom again.  So presently I am unsettled and unsure of how to proceed.
  •  06-07-2009, 11:07 AM

Re: Are you a second career nurse?

Hi,

I am 51 yrs old, have severe spinal osteoarthritis, and have had recent cervical surgery for spinal stenosis. I understand exactly what you are saying about the physical demands of nursing. Before you reinvent the wheel again :), please keep in mind that your LVN/LPN can serve you in other career fields besides hands on nursing. I too didn't receive my nursing license until I was in my 30's. Before that, I worked in a convenience store as a cashier, and had been a nurse’s aid while in high school.