Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Advice for New grad LPN

Last post 03-27-2009, 8:55 PM by Ronald Fountain. 2 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  02-19-2009, 4:14 PM

Advice for New grad LPN

I am a new grad LPN. I just obtained a New York license via reciprocity from NJ. First of all, the whole process of obtaining a license after graduating is rediculously too long. There are work permits but they are only for new grads who haven't taken the NCLEX exam. What are you supposed to do for the 4 weeks after you pass the exam (that is how long it took me just to get my lic #. I couldn't work because my permit was no longer valid)? Anyway, I finally got my lic. and would really appreciate any advice. I am really nervous about my first job. Plus, I am a little young. I am 21. I have faced some descrimination in class and on clinicals. It was discouraging a little bit, but when I graduated (1 of 8 out of 25 students) I was very confident, very self-conscious ( I knew I had something to prove to my teachers and classmates; that I was serious and compassionate and responsible)  and I believe I was one of the better nurses in my class in the end. I hope I don't run into the same descrimination in a new job. Thank You for responding.    
  •  03-27-2009, 8:38 PM

Re: Advice for New grad LPN