Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

School Setting Question

Last post 12-19-2010, 10:12 AM by Tonya. 3 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  11-24-2009, 3:11 PM

School Setting Question

Hi!

I am a new grad and have been working in the school setting since Sept. '09. As a school-based therapist I am an indirect service provider for the kids that I am to see. My question is this. How involved should I get in their care? I feel like I am not doing much of anything and that my skills as an OT are not being utilized the way I'd like. The special education teachers are often already using the techniques that I would recommend so most of the time I just observe and make sure that there are no other new concerns. The main thing that I do is consult for handwriting or complete assessments. Otherwise, I feel really useless. Am i missing something? Does anyone have any insight as to how I can get more out of this experience until I can get a different job? I love working with kids, but this no contact, no intervention, no direct service is really depressing - especially when the teachers, PTs and SLPs are all working with the kiddos in a more direct manner. Also, I did not have any direct training or field work experience to go off so kind of going in blind as far as job goes (paperwork, organizing caseload, interventions, provision of service, etc.). Thanks!!  :)

•  12-09-2009, 6:22 PM

Re: School Setting Question