Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Returning to the nursing workforce after time away.

Last post 03-05-2007, 4:21 PM by Mitzi Spain. 10 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  04-08-2004, 1:55 PM

Returning to the nursing workforce after time away.

Have you returned to the nursing profession after retirement or some time away? What was that like and how did you prepare to re-enter the workforce?
  •  05-12-2004, 7:37 PM

Disability Denied

My disability was denied even though the letter stated I cannot return to nsg. If I am forced back into working I will work as a nurse, if nothing else, for the money. When my appeal comes up I plan on telling them that. What kind of job can I do when I am on narcotics, Xanax, sleeping pills, anti-depressants, hypertensive drugs, diuretics, Phenergan, and all that other stuff. If I have to work it will not be for scale. I was a good nurse and I feel I am being punished. Is this our thanks after 32yrs? I hate being like this.

The Cat
  •  12-31-2004, 1:09 AM

returning to nursing

I am an LPN since 1977. Had been in ADN program off and pon sinmce then, but never completed the program.  I have a spotted work history in nursing due to this and having to care for an elderly ill parent.  Currently, I have been out of practice for nearly 5 years, except for a brief stint at the local correctional facility.  I am trying to return to nursing, but am meeting roadblocks. I also have fibromyalgia, etc and am under the care of a physician, but am not on disability.  that is part of the reason I quit in 1998, was in severe pain from the fibro.