Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

Stuck in non-clinical nursing position- need some useful advice...please, this is not what I envisioned for my nursing career

Last post 07-17-2012, 4:26 AM by Holly Doyle. 6 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  02-02-2012, 11:04 PM

Stuck in non-clinical nursing position- need some useful advice...please, this is not what I envisioned for my nursing career

I have been an RN for a little over 2 years. I graduated nursing school at a really bad time when there were hiring freezes everywhere and the few new grad programs that were accepting applications had a very limited number of spots, so basically, you had to know someone to get in. I started working for a staffing agency that initially sent me to area ADHC's because they didn't require acute experience. It was per diem, and not really what I wanted to be doing but I had to work somewhere.  Through that agency I ended up ge3tting into case managent (by accident, really) and was hired on by an IPA as an RN case manager, where I've been for over a year. This is not what I want to be doing and certainly not what I envisioned my nursing career would be. I want to do clinical work, but there seems to be no way to make the transition without having acute care experience. Nearly every job posting requires at least a year of acute experience, often specialized, which I don't have and I'm not a new grad anymore, to get into a new grad program. I am so frustrated and feel completely stuck in a position I don't really want to be in. Is there no way to move into a clinical position for me? I will have my BSN in June and plan to get my public health nursing certification that I'm hoping will open a few doors for me, but I'm getting so discouraged because no employer will even give me the time of day without recent acute experience. In a way I understand the experience requirement  or entering as a new grad hire where you are trained on the