Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

New student: medical billing and coding

Last post 06-26-2016, 10:05 PM by Salma Nori. 41 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (42 items)   1 2 3 Next >
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  05-07-2013, 12:29 AM

New student: medical billing and coding

I'm a new student going to school for medical billing and coding. This field first appealed to me because i heard that you could work from home but talking to the instructors I realized that it's not very big anymore and you really need to be with a doctor for some time to even have them consider that for you. Very disappointing to hear but it seems like a great field to be in so I’m going to stick with it. I've been reading through a lot of post on here and a lot of people have asked some of the same questions that I had. I'm really interested to know how the billing/coding and medical asst go hand in hand. When you apply at a physician’s office, does that make you look better to a manager seeing that you have both certs?? I would also like to know what physicians look for when hiring people who just graduate and who don't have experience. Any advice on how to study and make this learning process go a little easier would be great as well.

•  05-08-2013, 7:58 PM

Re: New student: medical billing and coding

Hey, I am in the same boat. It wasn't until I started the classes that I found out how hard it is to find a coding job with all the outsourcing to companies. I had to call over 5 people to talk to a coder that ACTUALLY worked IN the office.
  •  05-09-2013, 10:02 AM

I have previously been a medical biller and coder, but have been out of this field of work for about 6 years. It is so very difficult to work at home in this profession due to the fact that doctors are reluctant to release their Accounts Receivables. I feel this has happened due to fraud and home billing not being reliable.
  •  12-19-2013, 8:15 AM