Close Server: KOPWWW05 | Not logged in

Welcome to Health Care POV | sign in | join | help
in Search

coder/biller for HIM

Last post 02-10-2016, 3:05 AM by Sukhpal Singh. 7 replies.
Previous Discussion Next Discussion Sort Posts:
  •  01-07-2016, 10:33 PM

coder/biller for HIM

I am a student finishing up my medical coder/biller program and I am curious as to what is the best way to get experience with coding and billing? I have a job as a unit secretary, but I don't feel like that will be enough to get the job. what do others recommend?
  •  01-12-2016, 10:53 AM

Re: coder/biller for HIM

I like this very much,very good post.
    very nice post brother, hopefully it's news can be received by many people.
    كركر
    العاب 250
    العاب فلاش
  •  01-12-2016, 9:29 PM

Hello, I am an HIM and medical coding/billing student as well. It seems that all job postings now list experience as a requirement. To gain more experience I would suggest volunteering in an HIM department or related area in a local hospital. You may not be able to get a job in coding, but many facilities will take volunteers. I have been volunteering at a hospital and have learned so much just by being there. Once you have some experience volunteering, you could then look for a part-time job doing medical billing or something. Any experience is better than no experience. Hope that helps!
  •  01-13-2016, 10:49 AM

Hi Elizabeth!  I think we are in the same HIM class if I recognize your name correctly.  I also am currently working as a unit secretary.  I really feel that we have an advantage in that we are already employees in an organization that employs/needs coders.   It is my hope that they will recognize our value as existing employees and offer us opportunity for advancement.     I will be following this post though to see if anyone has any recommendations.  
  •  01-14-2016, 2:41 PM